The content on this website is provided by machine translation and has a risk of containing errors. Please confirm with the organizer about the detail before you go.

Echoes of Late Baroque dancing between eras

Unknown masterpieces by Germany's proud composers

2024/05/25(Sa.) 15:00 Starting

Tokyo Metropolitan ChurchTokyo

German composers active during the transition from Baroque to Classical music established their own styles in the intervening period and left behind numerous original and colorful works. This performance will focus on the trio sonatas for two flutes and bass, and will feature works by J.S. Bach's son, Friedemann Bach, the Bayreuth court musician Anna Bonn, the Berlin court musician Schaffrath, the Lied trio sonatas, and the innovative Gallant and multisensorial styles of The works of Emanuel Bach, who played a revolutionary role in the Gallant and multisensory styles, will be featured.
These works have been forgotten over time and are rarely performed today, but their compositional methods are highly innovative, and their expressive melodies move us. The Trio Sonata, which Shirai found by chance while researching Kleinknecht's works and which does not appear in the catalog, is one of the must-hear pieces in this performance!


  • Trio Sonata in G major

    J.F. Kleinknecht

  • Divertimento in D major, Op.111-4

    A. Bonn

  • Trio Sonata in G major, CSWV E15

    C. Schaffrath

  • Trio Sonata in D major

    F.W. Leet

  • Trio in D major, F.47


  • Sonata in G major for viola da gamba and basso continuo Wq.136

    C.P.E. Bach


  • Miho Shirai

    flauto traverso

  • Michiyo Arai

    flauto traverso

  • Kaori Koike

    viola da gamba

  • Kanoko Miyazaki


Admission and ticket purchase

  • Admission fee

    Advance tickets: 3500 yen / Door: 4000 yen / Student tickets: 2500 yen (Student tickets are available only at the concert office)

  • How to buy

    Concert Office:


See concerts held on