The content on this website is provided by machine translation and has a risk of containing errors. Please confirm with the organizer about the detail before you go.

Who was Lonati?"

Music of Late 17th Century Italy in the Footsteps of Lonati

2024/04/07(Su.) 14:00 Starting

Imai-kan Bible AuditoriumTokyo


Carlo Ambrosio Lonati (c. 1645-1712) was a violin virtuoso whose life is shrouded in mystery, although Veracini posthumously called him "the greatest violinist of the century. As a favorite of Christina, he conducted the Queen's string orchestra and worked with famous musicians such as Stradella, Pasquini, and the cello virtuoso Lurie, but he was forced to leave Rome after an embezzlement scandal. The young Corelli, who would later lay the foundation of 18th century violin music, replaced him in the queen's service. Lonati's only published work, the "12 Violin Sonatas" (1701), is composed of church and chamber sonatas, following Corelli's "Sonatas Op. 5," but it is not only very technical, with its irregular tuning, heavy tonal techniques, and use of the upper register, and reminding us of his virtuosity, but its melody also has a distinctive charm that belongs to neither of the turn-of-the-century era. The melody also has a unique charm that does not belong to either turn-of-the-century or post-twentieth-century style. The program includes not only the sonatas, but also works that have been attributed to him from manuscripts in Modena and London, as well as a solo work by his colleague in Rome, Carlo Mannelli, of which only one manuscript remains in Turin. The program will be performed in the same venue.


C.A. Lonati: Sonata No. 9 in C minor
C.A.Lonati (G.Colombi?) Sonata in D minor
C. Mannelli: Sinfonia No. 1 in A minor
A. Corelli: Violin Sonata No. 3 in C major, Op. 5
G. Colombi: Pieces on a Theme of Ciaccona in F major
G.L. Lhuillier: Sonata in D major for violin, violoncino and bass
Sonata in F major for violone and bass
B. Pasquini: Toccata in the second melody
Variations on "Il Paggio Todesco


  • Akika Sumi

    Baroque violin

  • Takatsugu Kakeda

    baroque cello

  • Miho Hirai


Admission and ticket purchase

  • Admission fee

    Advance sale 4000 yen
    At the door 4,500 yen
    Students 2500yen
    All seats unreserved

  • How to buy


    Tokyo Classical Instrument Center


See concerts held on